My Journey To Writing

My-Writing-Journey-International-Short-Story-Competition

I love reading and writing, but am kind of new to both… For the longest time, I hated reading and writing in school. Reading was just plain boring and I never seemed to understand the writing lessons.

But thinking of it now, the reason I disliked writing so much was because I didn’t understand the flexibility of the lessons; they were supposed to teach me to be creative and add something to the story in an interesting way, but I always read too deep into the lesson description and was worried about embarrassing myself with too much creativity. After finally finding a genre of books that holds my interest and reading The Divergent Series, The Hunger Games Series, The Giver and most of The Woodlands Series, I have discovered that the crazy outlandish ideas are the best kind! It’s these ideas that give the reader an experience that they’ve never had before and probably never will again.

I’d had an idea in my head for a while about a book that I was dying to write, but could never build up the courage to do anything with. The urge to write literally came out of nowhere, because I HATED writing. One day, I sat at my desk and said, “I’m gonna do it.” I opened a Word document and started typing. Of course, the first ‘chapter’ was horrible because I had never done any such thing before. And I was also worried about being embarrassed by my crazy idea when it came the time for my family to read it.

I had my mom read it and we made tweaks and changes… and I scrapped the entire thing. Fresh page, fresh start. I started a new story, had my mom read it. She liked it, but it needed a lot of work. So, she signed me up for this writing program, where I get assigned a teacher and I get to email her my work once a week. She reviewed it every week and helped me make changes, told me where more story should be and what should probably be taken out. It helped me so much. I finally got to the point where I felt like I didn’t need her assistance anymore and we quit the program.

I am still writing my Dystopian novel and having so much fun with it! Currently, I have 12 Chapters done, 50,000 words and 115 Word Document pages. My family has since refused to read any of it until it is done. I have a feeling it’s going to be a trilogy, based on how far along the story is at this point.

I keep writing and getting more and more excited about each chapter.

Sincerely,
Ivy

Leave a Reply

