Is ‘Jumbo Shrimp’ An Oxymoron?

jumbo-shrimp

My brother, my friend Skye and I got into a heated conversation about this topic that lasted all day long.

My opinion: no, it is not an oxymoron.

My brother’s opinion: no, it is not an oxymoron.

Skye’s opinion: Yes, of course it is!

Here is my theory:

Shrimp may have been named ‘shrimp’ because they are small, but in the usage of ‘jumbo shrimp’ ‘jumbo’ is not referring to the word ‘shrimp’ meaning small, but instead, referring to the name of the animal. Which means, no, it is not an oxymoron, but instead a description of an animal. Right? This seems simple to me, but Skye does not think the same.

What’s your stance? Please share, I’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

