How To Create A Pen Name

pen-names-when-best-to-use-a-pen-name

Hi! I’m Ivy Reddington.

Well, actually, no, I’m not.

My real name is a secret for privacy reasons…

At first, I actually didn’t want a pen name because I felt like it would be really weird and hard to get used to being called something else if my novel ever got published and famous…

tumblr_nghd6bjec91th1illo1_500

Who the hell is Bucky?

Okay, now that that’s said and done, how did I come up with my ‘pen name’?

Well, on a trip to Seattle with my mother and sister I was writing my novel in the car on my laptop. I got tired, closed the laptop and asked my mother to help me come up with a pen name. We came up with various ways and I’ve added some to the list that I came up with today:

  1. (The One I Used) Use a name from your favorite characters from shows, movies or books…
    My original pen name was going to be Ivy L. Reddington, but I dropped the L.
    Ivy – Ivy Walker from The Village.
    Lizzy – Elizabeth ‘Lizzy’ Bennet from Pride and Prejudice and Elizabeth ‘Liz, Lizzy’ Keen from The Blacklist.
    Reddington – MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE CHARACTER OF ALL TIME: Raymond ‘Red’ Reddington from The Blacklist.
  2. Obviously, a name that you’ve always loved!
    I’ve always loved the names ‘Hannah Turner’ and ‘Sapphira Adeeb(which means writer)’, ich weiss es nicht (‘I don’t know’ in German) why, but I do. But we said it out loud a few times and it just didn’t fit.
  3. Think of a person you admire and twist it up a bit.
    Honestly, I have no clue what we came up with then, but whatever it was, it didn’t work. But it could for you!
  4. Take your real name and shorten it.
    Ashley – Ash, William – Will, Brittany – Britt…
  5. Go by what sounds cool for your distinct genre of writing.
    Fantasy/Sci-Fi – Something mysterious and interesting like, J. K. Rowling, J. R. R. Tolkien, Crime, something authoritative like, H. C. Asterley, Edward Attard, John Baker… Not all of these are pen names, but you get the point, right?

As easy as that! Ivy Reddington.

Sincerely,
Ivy

2 thoughts on “How To Create A Pen Name

Leave a Reply

